Finding Peace in Pie

14 Sep

The cool weather is here! I am so happy! I love the cool weather, the cuddle weather, the comfy pants and hoodie weather! It’s hard for me to stay inside on days like this! The sun is out and air is crisp! Yes! It’s definitely baking weather! I have kind of slacked off baking at home since I do it so much at the bakery, my family does not suffer though! I bring things home, to my neighbourhood as well!

The other day, I was in a funk. I have some results of a test coming back to me and I am very anxious to get them, to know what they are and what will come next in my life after I get them. I am a worrier and anxious already, so this is just the cherry on the top for me. I needed to calm down and to relax, and the weather was cool. I decided to make pie. My family doesn’t usually get pies at home because I have to make them for orders at the bakery, so why not?

apple pieI got my apron on and started to get down to business! I decided to make an apple and a pear pie. Apple is like second nature, I know how to make that in my sleep, but pear, I had never made. I get excited to try new recipes and mix up flavours. With all of my anxiety and stress really taking a tole on my mind and body, I decided to expend some of the energy of my worries onto my pastry. It worked wonders. With pastry, I like to concentrate and I know each step, but it does not seem like I am repeating things over and over again each time I make it. It’s like new every time. I put everything I have into making the dough. Thinking of each step, feeling the texture, and thinking about each step for the fillings afterwards. It really took my mind somewhere else. I got out of the ever churning storm of thoughts in my head. I really enjoy making pies and I really love the autumn weather. Both of these mixed together really elevated my mood. I think of my mother every time I make pie as well. She taught me, and is still teaching me every time we talk about pastry and fillings and such. I think about her, I think about what I am doing, I think about the people that I am going to feed this pie to.

When I am done, I feel gratification in the food creation I just made and the fact that my family and friends are going to be baking familyable to enjoy it. For me, it’s better than making a cake. Anyone can bake a cake, it’s the decoration that is cool….but, I would rather not….on a day off for me, cake is the last thing that I want to do, unless I let my kids help bake and decorate it, then its a whole other world of fun! Almost everyone appreciates pie. Not everyone knows someone that can make pie either. When I heard this, I was shocked! My whole family knows how to make a standard pie! But I guess some families, everyone knows how to play the guitar, or drive a tractor, or hunt…..!

I was very very grateful for the peace that I found while making these pies the other day. I also found out that I have more inner peace when I stay true to who I really am! I love to give and make people happy. There is no other way that I have found to truly make others happy than to feed them! When friends try something that I have made, and they love it, I love it! I love the look of bliss on their face, or the remarks about reminding them of their youth, of their great grandma or their aunt who made something mouth watering for them when they were children. I find happiness in baking, I lose sight of this sometimes with the hectic pace of the bakery. I really really love to bake and bake different and new things. This is home for me.  I truly found my peace in the pie!

Leave a Reply

