It Takes a Village

20 Aug

Having children was always a dream for me,  I knew I wanted to be a mother, even at the age of 9 years old. When people ask me what I thought I would be as an adult when I was younger, I cannot think of anything except for being a mother. I didn’t even have dreams of a wedding or any typical young girl dreams, just motherhood.

When I had my first son, I was a little overwhelmed at first, but nature took over and it was smooth sailing once I got into the swing of things. It was Morley and I together all day. My husband was working a day shift, so it was just my little monkey and I, and I think I took about 4000 pictures just in the first 6 months! I went out everywhere! I don’t know what it is, but I wanted to be out in public…. It might be that I was on mat leave and needed to get out of the house, but I can safely bet that it was the fact that I wanted everyone to see my baby! He was (and still is) so adorable! Chubby little cheeks, perfect little lips and a smile that could melt anyone’s heart!

It really is a shame that the second child does not get as much one on one attention with mommy! If I could change things at all when they were both little….. I just might! I think that I would have put cakes on the back burner and focus on my family more. I am very thankful for everything that I have been blessed with, but the time you get with your children is precious and fleeting to say the least! They grow way too fast and holding them in your arms is something of the past.

I am proud of my children, and even though they try my patience and still need lots of guidance, they are great little human beings! They are loving and thoughtful, sensitive and smart. It wasn’t all from my husband and I though, even though, we will take most of the credit! haha! It comes down to everyone who is around my children. My mother and father have taught and influenced them through their years so far, and they learn something new every time they come home from grandma and grandpa’s……  mostly good stuff…. some things I just roll my eyes! ha ha!

Of course, there is school and the teachers, which have more influence on the kids than they realize! I remember things I was taught from my kindergarten teacher! Yes, I still remember!

Then, there is our direct neighbourhood. My oldest is alot like me when it comes to people…. we are not shy and we make fast friends. So, they were seeing me go from neighbour to neighbour, talking and helping everyone that I could/can, and they started tagging along and learning people’s names and talking to everyone as well. Now, I have created thee socialites of our street! They are now allowed to cross the street on their own….and of course I am watching!  They go to Mike and Edie’s, they say hi to Sue on their way, they say hi to Chuck and to Steve and Garth, of course…. on their way to Tim and Nicole’s house! Tim is a carpentar, and is working on his house. Anything with wood and building draws Morley in like a magnet, and anything Morley is drawn to, Adam follows. Now, this beautiful couple who live across the street from me, is more like an Aunt and Uncle to my children. Tim has such patience and teaches my kids so much! Morley is really blossoming! Adam is coming out of his shell, and he will ask to go see Mike and Edie all by himself now! This is alot from the little guy who used to hide behind my legs when someone would say hi!

On my side of the street are all of the kids! There are about 10 small children and they all know each other, and the parents know each other. We are all parents to all the kids!

I cannot teach my kids everything and be there for every experience that they have, and control everything that they hear or say, I do trust my neighbourhood, or my little village. Everyone around us has had a part in raising my children. I fully believe that it does take a village to raise a child. And, as long as I surround my kids with positive and friendly influences, I will have nothing to worry about!

Thank you Neighbourhood. Thank you C Street Village!

Elissa, Kyle, Mike, Edie, Sue, Dave, Dale, Jenn, Jenn, Jake, Steve, Kim, Garth, Tim, Nicole(Nickel), Chuck, Sheila, Mandy, Oral, Olga, Mr. George, you are all a positive influence and I am very grateful!

Leave a Reply

