With Love

17 Nov

I remember being a young girl and visiting my grandparents house. My grandfather was a carpenter, which in turn means that there were unfinished projects everywhere, wood, nails, tools etc. It smelled of sawdust and baking.

Bacon, Cheddar and onion scones, before they went into the oven.

Bacon, Cheddar and onion scones, before they went into the oven.

Bacon, cheddar and onion scones, baked perfectly

Bacon, cheddar and onion scones, baked perfectly

My grandmother was always in the kitchen. I don’t remember too much before I could hold on to memories tightly, but I remember her always at the kitchen table or the sink baking and cooking something. Grandpa loved his white beans, they were always soaking and in a pot on the stove. Grandma made the best pie, and the best chicken n dumplings. When I was a teenager, I would call her from school and ask her to make it for me for lunch! I would run to her apartment for lunch!  I always wondered why she could make things taste so much better than anyone else. My mom makes some great things as well, but when I tried to replicate the things they both made well, it never turned out just right. My mother makes the best fried rice and homefries in the world. And then, my husband started to compliment me on some of the things that I was making. He loves my chili, and homefries, and my baking.

What makes us so good at making things? Baking is a science, and it takes patience and technique. Every baker has their

I love to bake!

I love to bake!

own technique for certain things which works for them. It is science, but there is more to it. There is some things that a baker “just knows” that can’t be taught. It has to come from experience. So, I have been baking all my life, around all the women who have helped shaped me into who I am, and there are a lot, believe me! Every one of these women have taught me something different, they have all taught me different techniques and given me a plethora of tips and tricks. Even with all of this, when I was a bit younger, there was just something missing. Of course, it all tasted wonderful, like it should when you follow the recipe, but I felt like none of it compared to anything that came from the kitchens of the women who so lovingly taught me. A chocolate macaroon can’t be that hard. Oh, don’t be too sure. There were things that bothered me, like I could still feel the grittiness of the sugar, or they would be too soft, or too hard. What was I missing?

Then, I had children. This, is when my baking transformed. It went from good to great, getting compliments and everything. I could not explain it. I did not get more intelligent or more talented the minute that I became a mother. What changed?  It was the love. And, don’t get me wrong, I am not a mushy mush kind of person, but I am absolutely serious when I say that my performance in the kitchen improved immensely when I was making something for someone that I made. I made a little person, I wanted this person to love everything, to have the best. I was awakened. Everyone is someone’s child. I wanted to make everyone happy. I wanted to “mother” everyone I suppose.

Orange cranberry scone!

Orange cranberry scone!

There is nothing that I like better than to watch someone enjoy the food that I have made for them. It is very gratifying to experience. This is my expression of love.

Now that I have “found” my voice so to speak, I am relishing in it. I make pie and tarts on regular basis in my bakery now, and I feel very bashful even when my husband tells me it is the best he has had. As far as I am concerned nothing is as good as my grandmother and mother’s pie crust. But, I am still darn proud! My baked goods are done from scratch. I make scones like nobody’s business. I love to do it. I really really enjoy baking. I am now confident enough to switch around my recipes and improve on them and switch things up now and then. I have now created more than 5 recipes, and I never thought that would happen in my lifetime! I look at recipe books or recipes online. It seems so daunting… look at a recipe and think about making one all on your own! I mean a baked good too. these are harder than say, a dinner recipe…. to me anyhow! I don’t want to hurt anyone.

Delicious Blueberry Muffins

Delicious Blueberry Muffins

I am proud to say that my baked goods don’t start from a box or a mix or a bag, they are from flour and sugar, I put in every ingredient. The way my grandma did it, the way my mom does it. All of it starts with love though. Love of what I am doing, who I am doing it for, and the love of how I feel when I bake!

Try it. Do something that you love to do, that makes you feel good and do more of it!

whatmakesyouhappy_WEB_1024x1024

One Response to “With Love”

  1. Rhonda Deacon November 28, 2014 at 2:47 pm #

    Very nice Amy

    Like

Leave a Reply

