A Little R&R

7 Oct

So, with all that has been happening at the shop and at home, I need a much deserved vacation! My family and I are going to the cabin for Thanksgiving, as we do every year, and I can’t wait! This week at work has already been a whirlwind! I am making pies for tomorrow and taking orders for pies for Friday and Saturday! I just started to make pies to sell, and apparently people like them alot!

My youngest son had a nightmare last week and crawled into bed with my husband and I, in which the result was a very pulled and injured neck for me! For the last 4 days I have not been able to turn my head to the left without pain, or look up. This is torturous, and even more so today, making pies, always looking down and turning my head. I need someone to hold up my head for me! ha ha!     You know, I do this to myself all the time! I think it is such a great idea to make more items to sell at the shop, and it is! People love it! But, I stress myself because I have to do it all, along with the work I need to do anyway! I have to bake the cupcakes for the day, every day, I have to decorate the cupcakes, make the icing, bake the cakes that are on order, bake the muffins and squares and scones and such, and decorate the cakes for the weekend, and now, on the busiest weekend, I decide that it would be a good idea to add more items to the board to sell and take orders for. I love to do it. I love baking and creating things that make people so happy! I am glutton for work I think!

I cannot wait until the weekend! We are spending a whole 5 days at the cottage! It is so beautiful up there. I can actually relax and calm down, sleep in, and not rush or worry. I need this! My kids need this as well. They love the cabin. My husband used to spend every weekend at the cabin when he was single. 4 hours worth of driving to get there, and he was there all the time! Life is different now, and money does not flow like water. We get there once every year and that is it. I hope to be able to take some time off next summer or spring to get up there, but that is wishful thinking, I know!

My mother still hasn’t had any contact with me, I will write her another letter and let her know how things are and what the kids are up to as well. I will just tell her that if she won’t keep in touch with me, I will write her letters. I do not know her as much as I thought I did, and she does not know me either. I think this might actually let her know a little more who I really am. Let her know that she has a nice person for a daughter. Who knows what will happen, but I know that I cannot have zero contact with my mother. I love her.

But, enough worrying about things that are out of my hands, on to things I can fix!

Back to the pies! The never ending pie making!

Happy Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

