Something New

21 Sep

I have been debating about opening a shop for the past 2 years now. I really want to have a place where I can have all of my cake supplies, where I can do my work and just come home. I also want the foot traffic…..I think it would be great! Now, I have heard from a little birdie that there will be a place opening up in the near future, right in the district that I have been yearning for! This makes me very excited! In the same breath, VERY scared as well!

There is alot to think about when opening up a business! I have to have all my cupcakes in a row! And I haven’t even baked them yet! ha! ha! I mean, I have tons of ideas, I know what I want the shop to look like, I know how I want to display things….I know all of the “pretty” things! But on the number end of it, I am a bit….off! Then, to think about the daycare that I will need and the cost of that! UGH! First, I don’t want just anyone taking care of my precious bundles, and then it’s going to break my heart to leave them 5 days a week! I have been with them both since the days they were born! Right now, I leave them 2 days a week to bake and decorate. I rent a local kitchen which used to be a restaurant, and my hubby watches the kids one day and my friend watches them the next day. Don’t get me wrong, it is nice to have a break from “momville” 2 days a week, but am I prepared to do it for 5 days? This is where it hurts my head! Pros, cons, what’s best for the kids, what’s best for the business, and I don’t even think about what is best for me! As long as my kids are happy and healthy, the rest doesn’t matter.

I have a problem also with being a “yes” girl. And I think that being in a shop and getting to have foot traffic come in would increase my sales ALOT! So, this is where I frighten myself with being too busy! Being busy is good, very good for business! But, I tend to put too much on my plate for fear of anyone being disappointed! I have only said “no” to two people in the 3 years that I have been doing this! In the end though, I really, really, really want this! I strive to be the best. With more space, more time and more opportunity, I think that I could get there!  Now, there is no horn tooting going on here, just hopes and dreams of a woman! That is all!

I constantly second guess myself, and “they” say that you should just listen to your heart, or make the the first decision that you thought of. But I think this is too big of a step to just listen to my heart! I have to look at the pocket book as well! And, listen to all who give me advice! I need to stew for a while about what action plan to take! I will do it. It’s just a matter of where and when!

I hope you all look forward to coming in to see me and eating a cupcake, or cake truffle! I will be there at some point! And when I am, I will have a big smile on my face!

One Response to “Something New”

  1. alreadyredeemed September 22, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    You are a freaking blog maniac!! I LOVE IT! I can’t believe how diligently you’ve been blogging! I am so pumped to read all about your cakes and kids and the crazy adventure that is your life!

    Girl, I can’t WAIT for you to open your shop! And just remember: YOU CAN ALWAYS HIRE HELP!! 😉 Busy is good, but I understand exactly what you mean when you say you don’t know how to say no… And you know why!! Business can be nuts but NO IS OKAY!! My sis-in-law taught me that sometimes, saying yes to a stranger, means saying no to my kids. And that helped me start handing out NO’s when I had too much on my plate. It’s a good theory to live by.

    Love you, love you, love you!!
    KEEP THEM COMING!!
    xoxoxox

    Like

Leave a Reply

